Current ~ Archives ~ Profile ~ 101 Things ~ Notes ~ E-Mail ~ Rings ~ Design



at 2005-01-03 around 2:51 p.m.

Well, since I have time to kill until Lukas falls asleep, I may as well tell this story now.

Let's set the stage here: Nick got these fleece socks for Christmas. His work buddy told him that they fell down a lot, and they were probably junk, so he gave them to me. I put them on.

Lukas had an accident. I changed his underpants and picked him up so we could go down to the laundry room and get him some clean pants. I figured while we were down there, he could take a nap on the couch in the playroom since Nickolas was sleeping in their room and I didn't want to wake him. I made it down one and a half stairs before my feet flew out from under me and we skidded down on my back. I heard this horrible CRACK! and my first thought was that he'd hit his head. Lukas screamed, and I immediately went for his head, but he was clutching his little chubby leg, which wasn't nearly as chubby as it looked right then. My mind flashed back to a few months ago when a back spasm knocked my mom out of her wheelchair and broke the upper bone in her leg (which I now know is your femur). It looked just like that. I started screaming. I really could have handled it better, but I freaked. I panicked. Nick came running in from the garage, where he was helping our landlord load some of her stuff into her car. I asked him if we should call 911, and he immediately said yes. I grabbed the phone, but I was crying so hard I couldn't talk. He made the call, and Lukas had his first (and hopefully last) ride in an ambulance.

The people at the hospital were nice, but they all acted a bit strange to me. I was starting to get annoyed. I pulled Luke's favorite book out of my purse and was reading it to him when a doctor came in. Finally, I thought. Then he opened his mouth.

"His femur is broken." I started to cry (again). The doctor raised his voice and said, "This is serious, you know. He'll be here a while, and he'll need surgery." He was not saying this nicely. I could not understand why this man was yelling at me. Couldn't he see my baby was in pain and that was enough for me? Thankfully he left shortly thereafter and another, different doctor came to see me.

He sat down in the other chair and said, "Mrs. Supermom, I'm sorry we have to do this but it's the law. We have called DCFS and the sheriff's department and they should be here shortly. It's not that we think this is a case of abuse, because that is not what we think at all, but a long bone fracture is required to be reported." My jaw dropped. DCFS? The sheriff's department? Oh my God. These people think I did this! My heart actually hurt and I could barely breathe for a minute. The doctor was still talking, but I wasn't listening anymore. He gave me a sympathetic look and left.

The police came, and when I told them my story they laughed, which shocked me a bit. "No, no," the shorter one said, "we're only laughing because our supervisor got fleece socks for Christmas and fell down her stairs and broke her toe." Oh. So at least my "story" is logical. They apologized for having to come out for what was quite obviously an accident, and that left only DCFS. Who seemed nice enough, except when she learned I had another son, she had to see him immediately. After freaking out internally because I knew he was with Nick and Rob at Rob's house and they were drinking beer, I called Nick (in front of her, of course) and told him to go to our house and wait for her. It was the most humiliating thing I've ever had to do, but at least they realized they were wasting their time.

Luke had to be put under full anesthesia for the application of the cast. Called a spica cast, it covers him from chest to toe. It's designed so he can't move his hips and jar his leg, but this thing is going to be probably my biggest challenge so far as a mom. That and the fact that all I can give him is Tylenol, which doesn't appear to be helping him. He just passed out after an hour long, screaming tantrum, in which he yelled, "My leg hurts Mommy," over and over while he shook and cried. I wanted to die, I wanted to fix him, but all I could do was hug him (hard when he has a cast on his chest) and tell him to go to sleep. Poor baby.

And yes, I did actually hurt myself, but all I did was hit my head. Since I do that all the stupid time, I declined treatment and told the doctors to fix my baby and not worry about me.

So thank you, everybody who left comments, notes, and suggestions. You guys are amazing, and it makes me feel so good to know that you're thinking of me. Lukas will heal quickly, but who knows how long it will be before I quit seeing the whole thing in my mind over and over again. Could I have fallen differently? Could I have caught myself? Could I have thrown myself forward and not landed on his little leg? The answer is probably no, it happened too fast and my feet flew out too quickly for me to do anything at all. But I'll still think about it.

Click back for the pictures of Luke in his huge cast.

Kids are: Baby Genius Sleepytime

Last person who pissed me off: That mean ass doctor. I wanted to spit in his face.

Heard in my house: Silence. Shhhhh. I'm going to go sneak a piece of cake. Don't tell.

<< || >>

Miss Anything?

pics - 2007-06-05
I said I'd update again, but I didn't promise substance - 2007-06-04
I said I'd update again, but I didn' - 2007-06-04
the short version - 2007-05-30
title this - 2007-04-14

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com<< # Bitch Club ? >>

Brushes - Host - Photos - Reviews - Wishlist - LiveJournal - Cast - Free Stuff - Adagio Teas