Current ~ Archives ~ Profile ~ 101 Things ~ Notes ~ E-Mail ~ Rings ~ Design



at 2007-01-11 around 9:29 a.m.

Okay. I think Paul fixed the car for now. It doesn't spray coolant or overheat anymore, and it hasn't for a few days now. I'll just drive with my breath held until I figure out a way to get another car. So that's one crisis averted. For now.

But because life is a constant trial, yesterday night I ended up in the emergency room with Lukas, who had been running a fever of 102 to 104 since Sunday night. He's fine now, and I wouldn't have taken him to the hospital except that his regular doctor couldn't get me in until Monday and no one else around here takes my insurance. And believe it or not, I was in and out - of an emergency room!- in twenty minutes. It's like some kind of new world record. And now he feels better and I miss how quiet the house was when all he wanted to do was sleep. I am a terrible mother.

I haven't been doing a lot of computering in the past few days because suddenly the computer gives me migraines. Today, in small increments, I seem to be doing fine, but I'm not going to push my luck here. Oh! I almost forgot. Last week at work one of the maintenance men was wandering around our store. I'd never met the man before, but he walked right up to me and asked me how I felt about the death penalty. (Maybe because of the Saddam Hussein thing? I don't know either.) Then he proceeded to tell me all about a guy in his hometown who raped a thirteen year old girl and cut off her hands and watched her die. I repeat, I have never seen this man before in my life. Why is he telling me this? And he went on and on about these true crime stories, mostly about teenage girls raped and murdered. Then he appeared to switch tacks and told me that he is on a first name basis with all the motels in my town, like I'm supposed to be impressed that he can get the "good room" at the Meth Palace. Wow. Is it by the ice machine? And when he was leaving he grabbed my arm and told me to walk him to his van, which was parked on the other side of the plate glass window, in the first row. I reclaimed my arm and told him he'd be fine, and then I told my boss on him. Did I overreact? I don't know, but the man seriously creeped me out and really, there was not one thing he opened his mouth to say that was appropriate for work.

Well, apparently I didn't overreact because yesterday I got a call, at home, from the regional HR director of Big Orange and Red Parts Store. He had me go over again what the guy said to me and thanked me for my time, and said he'd probably be stopping by my store to speak with me soon. Eep. I don't want to be responsible for getting the guy in trouble, but he skeeved me out big time and I'm not all that sorry about it either.

Why, oh why, do freaks feel the pressing need to talk to me?

Kids are: Getting along for once. Nickolas missed Lukas so much when he was sick. Cute.

Last person who pissed me off: Skeevy maintenance man.

Heard in my house: "Lukas is sleeping again and you don't play the same."

<< || >>

Miss Anything?

pics - 2007-06-05
I said I'd update again, but I didn't promise substance - 2007-06-04
I said I'd update again, but I didn' - 2007-06-04
the short version - 2007-05-30
title this - 2007-04-14

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com<< # Bitch Club ? >>

Brushes - Host - Photos - Reviews - Wishlist - LiveJournal - Cast - Free Stuff - Adagio Teas