Current ~ Archives ~ Profile ~ 101 Things ~ Notes ~ E-Mail ~ Rings ~ Design



at 2007-02-16 around 8:49 a.m.

RANT AHEAD. PROCEED WITH CAUTION.

I don't think this is my thing, people. To be fair, I never thought this was my thing at all but I figured I wouldn't really know until I tried. There is a certain kind of person who can handle wrangling children all the livelong day and never have a single, fleeting wish for an electric cattle prod but alas, I am not one of them. I don't, however, think I have any gracious way of getting out of this. My only consolation is that I only agreed to do this until I have the baby and then it is understood that I will (somewhat obviously) no longer be up for it. And I don't have to get up at five when they first get here because Paul takes care of that shift. I roll out of bed around seven, which is much more an hour that exists in my world. I do not believe in five a.m.

Maybe I'm getting old. I know I do this every year, but twenty-eight sounds WAY older than twenty-seven. (I'm pretty sure I could look back and find similar statements about at least twenty-six and twenty-five.) And for some reason (perhaps the hormones, duh), I'm incredibly exhausted pretty much all the time. I even asked my boss to keep me on four-hour half-shifts because standing up for nine hours at a stretch absolutely drains me. I get home at five in the afternoon and go directly to bed. It's pathetic. Of course, since I asked him to cut my shifts, I've had at least two full shifts per week where before I'd get one every two weeks. Kind of an asshole, eh? I also asked him to keep me off mornings and I've had more mornings in the past three weeks than I've had since I worked there. After I have the baby, I think I'll be ringing up the competitors.

Yet another downside to having all these extra children? My kids are far less than thrilled with the situation. They have inherited my need-some-damn-space-please tendencies and to wake up and find the house overrun with monkeys (which is about what I compare their behavior/manners with) really puts them in a mood. It seems like no matter what I say to these kids, they still do whatever they want. That seems to include breaking EVERYTHING they put their hands on (toys, crayons, the remotes to two of my TV's, a dining room chair, I could go on), constantly wrestling and screaming, and just plain being a nightmare. It's starting to rub off on my own formerly well-behaved children and that's pretty much what has put me on to this rant. Now I'm sure their mother tries her best. I'm sure it's not easy to be a single, 25-year-old mother of four with a full-time job. Honestly, I would go nuts. But these are seriously the rowdiest kids I've ever met in my life and they just have no desire whatsoever to behave. It doesn't help that they're up at four o'clock in the morning every day and refuse to nap. They're probably just severely sleep deprived. But that is not really my problem and when my own kid comes up to me and says, "B-------'s kid's aren't going to be here tomorrow, are they?" and then bursts into tears when I tell him that yes, they are and guess what, they'll be here all weekend too (from Saturday morning at seven until Sunday afternoon around three - yes, that includes overnight) I'm ready to throw up my hands and surrender.

Now, I have to go figure out why the little girl has been screeching for the last twenty minutes. She has a lot of breath for a two-year-old.

Kids are: Being told for the 6678876th time to stay the fuck out of my bedroom.

Last person who pissed me off: Yeah, I just did the rant thing.

Heard in my house: "I'm your doggy now. Tell me I'm bad." This girl's got issues already.

<< || >>

Miss Anything?

pics - 2007-06-05
I said I'd update again, but I didn't promise substance - 2007-06-04
I said I'd update again, but I didn' - 2007-06-04
the short version - 2007-05-30
title this - 2007-04-14

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com<< # Bitch Club ? >>

Brushes - Host - Photos - Reviews - Wishlist - LiveJournal - Cast - Free Stuff - Adagio Teas