Current ~ Archives ~ Profile ~ 101 Things ~ Notes ~ E-Mail ~ Rings ~ Design



at 2005-02-18 around 9:17 a.m.

For the past three days, all I have heard about in this office is dogs. Someone found a stray dog (I think it was DMIL) and they are trying to find it a home, so every single conversation is about dogs. Now, I am not a dog person, so I really don�t find this all that interesting. And yet, people keep trying to include me, even though I am visibly cringing and giving off a not-so-subtle �don�t talk to me� vibe. Then they act surprised and appalled when I tell them I don�t like dogs. �Oh, so you�re a cat person.� No, I�m not a cat person. I�m not a horse person, or a gerbil person, or a fish person. I don�t have any pets because I don�t want any. If you bring your dog in here, I will not be in the crowd around him ooh-ing and aah-ing. It�s just the way I am, and I�m sorry if it offends you. Please stop telling me how much better my life would be if I turned my backyard into a minefield of shit and made my house smell like dog breath, which makes me gag. Because really, that doesn�t sound better. Thank you.

Oh, and anyway, I listen to my neighbors� dog bark all fucking night long. So there are dogs in all my dreams, in case I ever feel lacking in the pet department.

I�m crabby today. I hope it doesn�t show. Goody, now they�re talking about acupuncture curing the flu. Please kill me now.

I spent a few hours last night trying to get a good rate for a flight to, and a hotel in, Vegas. Nick�s cousin wants us to fly to Phoenix and drive to Vegas with them, but he drives like a maniac. I don�t want to be in a car with him for that long, I�ll end up in a ditch in the desert. I have kids, I can�t take crazy chances like that. So I�m flying in to Vegas. Then Nick and I get some time alone before his cousin and his NOT-girlfriend get there. (You know, they have been dating for a good three years now, but she is NOT his girlfriend. She�s obviously much more attached than he is. In fact, I witnessed him calling her at six in the morning on the way home from partying all night, the one night I got out of the house in years, and tell her that he was in jail in Rockford, which is about two and a half hours from where she lives, and she needed to come get him. [Longest sentence ever. Shame on me.] She got right up and asked directions. I would have told him to get fucked. This is one long parenthetical.) I haven�t had time alone with my husband for a long time.

And it�s his birthday today. Maybe we�ll get to go out to dinner. Maybe, but probably not. I hope so, because I�ve got a hankering for Italian, and there�s this great little restaurant at which my friend Danielle just happens to work. You know the place, treesssa, we went there for lunch. Well, drinks. I didn�t do much eating, surprise surprise. Maybe I can find a sitter so we can at least have a nice dinner for once. I�m not counting on it.

Oh well, happy Friday everyone. It�s Lorie�s birthday today too. Go wish her a good one too.

Crap, I almost forgot. If you have little ones, and you have C0mcast 0n Demand, there is a Yoga for Kids program in the Sports & Fitness Section that Lukas and I did three times in a row last night because he was having so much fun. I think it's really helping his leg, and it wore him out. We had a blast. Try it, I'll bet you'll have fun too.

Kids are: "You Oughta Know" Alanis Morrissette

Last person who pissed me off: Ew, everyone, I don't want a dog. Quit it!

Heard in my house: "I like the butterfly pose, Mommy."

<< || >>

Miss Anything?

pics - 2007-06-05
I said I'd update again, but I didn't promise substance - 2007-06-04
I said I'd update again, but I didn' - 2007-06-04
the short version - 2007-05-30
title this - 2007-04-14

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com<< # Bitch Club ? >>

Brushes - Host - Photos - Reviews - Wishlist - LiveJournal - Cast - Free Stuff - Adagio Teas