Current ~ Archives ~ Profile ~ 101 Things ~ Notes ~ E-Mail ~ Rings ~ Design



at 2005-02-23 around 10:30 a.m.

Never try to write an entry about something serious when you�re still looped on whateverthey gave you in the emergency room. You will give people the impression that you don�t think what happened is serious and that you�re more pissed off about missing American Idol. (Which I was kind of mad about at the time, but not so much now.) I am not happy whatsoever with the answers I got from the staff there. Basically I went in and told them that my face and arm stopped working (not lost feeling, stopped working as in paralyzed), and they patted me on the head and told me I had a migraine. Yes, I know I had a migraine. That wasn�t the bad part. Duh. So when I got to work yesterday, after popping some more imitrex because God bless it, I still have this migraine, I called my neurologist. His snotty receptionist scheduled me for next Monday, which would be great if I wasn�t serious about needing to be seen. She put me on hold while she �checked with the doctor� and came back to tell me that I need to keep taking imitrex and midrin regularly until I can get in, and if I would like, I can keep calling to see if they have any cancellations. Fuck.

So here I sit, in my office with my lights off because I can�t stand the glare, terrified that something is really wrong with me and no one will listen. I�ve never eaten more carefully in my life, avoiding all possible triggers that could at this point kill me, for all I know. (Okay, most likely not. But still.) Then I was looking through the neurologist�s website, and I found this:

"Strokes, or brain attacks, are medical emergencies that require immediate medical attention. Warning signs of stroke include the following:
� Sudden numbness or weakness, especially on one side of the body
� Sudden confusion
� Sudden vision problems in one or both eyes
� Sudden difficulty walking, dizziness, loss of balance or coordination
� Sudden, severe headache with no known cause
� Sudden difficulty speaking or understanding speech"

In case anyone was wondering, four out of those six things happened to me. I explained that to the people in the hospital, and they didn�t seem all that concerned. I realize that I�m only 26, but I�ve had migraines my whole life and done drugs for most of it. My body is not in the best of shape after all that. I also realize I may be freaking out about nothing, but it makes me nervous. I am very, very good at making myself nervous.

*sigh* I�m done now. Sorry.

Kids are: "Megalomania" Incubus

Last person who pissed me off: Everyone medical that I've talked to.

Heard in my house: "I love the new babysitter's house. Can we go back now?" Oh yeah. New sitter.

<< || >>

Miss Anything?

pics - 2007-06-05
I said I'd update again, but I didn't promise substance - 2007-06-04
I said I'd update again, but I didn' - 2007-06-04
the short version - 2007-05-30
title this - 2007-04-14

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com<< # Bitch Club ? >>

Brushes - Host - Photos - Reviews - Wishlist - LiveJournal - Cast - Free Stuff - Adagio Teas