Current ~ Archives ~ Profile ~ 101 Things ~ Notes ~ E-Mail ~ Rings ~ Design



at 2005-03-23 around 10:35 a.m.

Here are the rules :
1. Leave a note requesting an interview.
2. I will respond by asking you five questions. I get to pick the questions.
3. You will update your blog/site with the answers to the questions and leave the answers as comments on my blog. [Personally, I think a link to the answers in a comment would be sufficient, but the directions as I received them say to leave the answers.]
4. You will include this explanation and an offer to interview someone else in the same post.
5. When others comment asking to be interviewed, you will ask them five questions.

Now, here are the questions that Crate asked me:

1. What is your greatest fear for your kids?
My greatest fear, which I�m certain I share with zillions of parents, is that something will happen to them that I can�t fix or that I�m not there to fix. Now, let�s not forget that I�m slightly fucked in the head, and I spend hours each day thinking about the terrible things that could happen to those I love, especially when they are entrusted to the care of others. When the sitter has to drive them somewhere, I picture horrible highway catastrophes. When we�re playing outside and I run in to grab my ringing phone, I picture a pedophile scooping them up and spiriting them away. Obviously, I�ve got some issues, but I really don�t think I�m that different from other parents in just wanting their kids to be safe.

Unless, of course, you�re asking the question the other way. Then I have to say that my greatest fear for my kids is that they will live in a world of fear, surrounded by biological and nuclear war. The technology is out there, it�s already in the wrong hands, and that terrifies me. I don�t want my kids to have to think about things like that; when I was little, I never did.

2. What is the oddest thing you've thrown away?
Just the other day I took a bag of peas out of the freezer to make for dinner, put it on the counter, made the rest of dinner, threw the bag of peas in the garbage, served dinner, took out the garbage, and then realized that I had just thrown an entire bag of frozen peas in the garbage. That�s pretty odd. Also, I threw away a zebra-striped cloth palm tree once. For obvious reasons.

3. Name one song that you are really embarrassed about liking and tell us a memory related to that song.
�C�mon Ride the Train� by Quad City DJ�s. I had this cassette single in high school, and it had the radio edit and then an extended, instrumental version on it. My best friend Brooke and I were driving home from her house to mine (about a 1 � hour drive) and surprise, we were on acid. We let the tape play in an endless loop for the entire drive, first the version with words, and then we would sing the words in the instrumental. Then we stopped at a gas station and a guy made us balloon animals. Sadly, back then, that wasn�t even a weird day. Choo choo!

4. Finish this sentence: "I don't know where the gibbon came from, officer, but..."
��he certainly can drive a forklift!�

5. If you could vandalize one famous piece of art, what would it be, how would you deface it and why?
I can�t believe how hard I had to think about this one. Probably either The Scream or American Gothic, but try as I might, I just don�t know what I�d do to them. I guess I�m just not thinking very creatively this morning. Crap! I can�t believe I can�t think of anything. I�m going to keep this question in the back of my mind, though.

Well thank you, Crate, for the thought-provoking questions. Who's next?

Kids are: It's on the country station, so I don't know the name or artist. But I do like it.

Last person who pissed me off: My boss for not committing to a half day on Friday.

Heard in my house: "Show me your belly button, Mommy." I don't really have one anymore. So sad.

<< || >>

Miss Anything?

pics - 2007-06-05
I said I'd update again, but I didn't promise substance - 2007-06-04
I said I'd update again, but I didn' - 2007-06-04
the short version - 2007-05-30
title this - 2007-04-14

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com<< # Bitch Club ? >>

Brushes - Host - Photos - Reviews - Wishlist - LiveJournal - Cast - Free Stuff - Adagio Teas