Current ~ Archives ~ Profile ~ 101 Things ~ Notes ~ E-Mail ~ Rings ~ Design



at 2004-06-15 around 11:53 a.m.

Okay, here's my deal. I am twenty-five years old, I live outside Chicago (way outside), I have two little boys (ages one and two) and a husband who doesn't work due to a work accident, and I am going crazy.

We had been scraping by for a while on what little money I make (I work for a medium-sized insurance agency) but it all fell apart recently and we have moved in with my parents. Needless to say, this is not an optimal situation for us. My dad is my best friend, and living with him makes him feel like his parenting has failed. So he's in a bad mood most of the time. My mom was in a car accident about two years ago and suffered both a spinal cord injury that has left her paralyzed from the waist down and a brain injury that has left her confused and frustrated. So no built-in babysitter there. Add into the equation my child-hating sister, home from college for the summer, and you have one volatile mix indeed. My dad has hired said sister to be my mom's caregiver so he can go back to work, but they only antagonize each other all day and by the time I get home from work, one or the other is crying.

So, a young family in our situation, the best thing to do is save, save, save, right? You would think so, but my darling husband just racked up a $450 phone bill. Think that's bad? The very next day he spilled a beer on his friend's laptop, which we now have to replace. (By "we", I mean "I".) Did I mention I only make enough for one person to live on? And because his workers compensation case is so messed up* we never know when his company will decide to fork over his payments. He has court on Thursday of this week so hopefully we'll get a check large enough to cover his increasingly costly mishaps. Argh.

*He was working as a carpenter in some new construction and slipped on some loose boards, causing his kidney to practically rupture. A standard drug test was performed, and because he was already being treated with painkillers, it came up positive. And of course he had pot in his system too. So they're trying not to pay him.

So here I sit, at my desk in my cube at my job that makes me want to scream and light fire to various objects at least three times a day, sometimes even when I'm not here. All I ever wanted to be was a mom, and here I sit, my kids in (shudder) daycare, while my husband sleeps all day and hating every moment of it.

My stupid job doesn't even pay the bills, so what's the point? The point, apparently, is to drive me to drink. My mother-in-law works here too. Isn't that GREAT? No, it is not great. I don't exactly hate her, but she makes my skin crawl with distate. She is the kind of person who looks down on everyone else, but fails to see her own glaring faults. She believes Nick (hapless husband o'mine) should pay her back (monetarily) for the financial setback of raising him. Her son. She believes my sons should both be potty-trained by now and I am indulging them by child-proofing my house. She, of course, refuses to child-proof hers and then complains that we never bring them over. Her house has been "being remodeled" since I have known her (about seven years, and by "being remodeled" I mean "gutted"), and she has no problem demanding that everyone around her help, uncompensated, with this remodeling. She is a gossip and she is a hypocrite. And she has a moderate amount of power around the office, so she makes the atmosphere just delightful. DELIGHTFUL.

Rant, rant. Here is a list of things that make me insane about work:

1. My mother-in-law bitching about everything everyone else around here does wrong to me, instead of to whoever screwed it up. How does this fix things? It doesn't, that's how. All this does is make me want to kill her AND whoever is on her shit list for today.

2. My "friend" that I was nice enough to hook up with a job here, didn't show up AGAIN today. This not only makes me look bad, but I just know that tomorrow I'll have to hear a sob story about how bad her life is. She's a "problem chick", as we called them in high school. You know, the girl always crying in the hallway, with a circle of girls around her saying "it's okay, Amber"(aren't they always named Amber? I hate girls named Amber.)

3. Our office go-fer is this woman who doesn't really need to work because her husband makes gobs of money doing some computer-consulting thing, but is "so bored at home" she has to get out, so she works here. She is super bi-polar and probably the single most annoying person I have ever met. She just bought a townhouse in Mesquite, Nevada. How do I know this? Because she told me. Seven times. Today. She also just got a puppy. How do I know? Guess. It's a cocker spaniel (yuck). How do I know? AAAAAHHHHH SHUT UP ALREADY!

4. Insurance is so boring.

5. Customers are so stupid. If you don't know what kind of insurance you have, or what name you have on your policy, you should not be allowed to walk around, much less operate a potentially dangerous appliance like a telephone.

Over and out.

Kids are:

Last person who pissed me off:

Heard in my house:

<< || >>

Miss Anything?

pics - 2007-06-05
I said I'd update again, but I didn't promise substance - 2007-06-04
I said I'd update again, but I didn' - 2007-06-04
the short version - 2007-05-30
title this - 2007-04-14

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com<< # Bitch Club ? >>

Brushes - Host - Photos - Reviews - Wishlist - LiveJournal - Cast - Free Stuff - Adagio Teas