Current ~ Archives ~ Profile ~ 101 Things ~ Notes ~ E-Mail ~ Rings ~ Design



at 2004-07-27 around 10:17 a.m.

My friend K is getting married!

She is pregnant with her second child, and her boyfriend proposed the other day. He is also, I think, in the process of adopting her first child because his daddy (the baby�s) is way, way out of the picture. Which is good, because he was very abusive and very useless. I�m super excited because this means � ROAD TRIP! It will be soon because she wants it to be before she has the baby. I�m so happy for her. Bad luck seems to follow her around almost as much as it follows me. I wish her all the best in her marriage.

The problem? Nick hates her boyfriend. I foresee a difficult time in getting permission to go to this wedding�

But Nick loves K so hopefully he�ll go with and just be civil. Uh-huh, Nick, civil�I suppose it�s possible under the right circumstances, like a wedding. I hope he doesn�t make this hard for her. All she wants is her best friend (me) to be at her wedding and I am praying that he doesn�t start something over this.

Maybe I�m not giving him enough credit. He�s a grown man. I think he knows how to act. I hope.

Today is my DMIL�s birthday. Know what her husband got her? A divorce. So she�s all sad and whatnot, who wouldn�t be? So Nick and I came in to work late last night and decorated her cubicle with balloons and streamers and all that crap, and a few pictures of the boys saying, �Happy Birthday Omi!� (that�s German for Grandma, they�re very German) and cards, and presents. I think it cheered her up a little, but jeez, what an asshole. I�m sure we�ll be seeing a lot more of her now.

I think I may have begun to change Nick�s mind about the no more children issue, but I�m not sure yet so I don�t want to jinx it by talking about it too much. Cross your fingers for me!

Idunnone1, putting LYLAS in your diary the other day made me remember all the silly things we would put at the bottom of notes when we were younger, like Sorry So Short, and Longer Letter Later, and all that girly crap � remember back then when all we wanted to do was get married and have babies? What the hell was wrong with us?

Of course I�m kidding, but you know what I mean. Do you even talk to your childless friends anymore? No, because they are too busy going on weekend road trips and Cubs games on weeknights and nightclubs. They are sleeping in until noon on Saturday and leaving for dinner at nine o�clock at night. What are we doing? We are getting up every three hours every night and making bottles with our eyes closed. We are cleaning up an entire bottle of dish soap from the kitchen floor (so! many! bubbles!) and wondering how the TV remote ended up in the washing machine.

I wouldn�t trade it for the world.

Kids are:

Last person who pissed me off:

Heard in my house:

<< || >>

Miss Anything?

pics - 2007-06-05
I said I'd update again, but I didn't promise substance - 2007-06-04
I said I'd update again, but I didn' - 2007-06-04
the short version - 2007-05-30
title this - 2007-04-14

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com<< # Bitch Club ? >>

Brushes - Host - Photos - Reviews - Wishlist - LiveJournal - Cast - Free Stuff - Adagio Teas