Current ~ Archives ~ Profile ~ 101 Things ~ Notes ~ E-Mail ~ Rings ~ Design



at 2005-06-15 around 10:59 a.m.

Ugh. The sickness, it's killing me.

The boys' preschool called me around noon on Monday. It seems Lukas had a 104 degree fever and needed to go home. Well, I thought, at least I got half a day's work in. Ha.

Yesterday, I went to drop them both off, and the snotty bitch I don't like said to me, "You can't bring him back until he's been fever-free for twenty-four hours. It's in your handbook." Okay, sorry. Whatever. Lukas is fine, and he's really looking forward to school today, but fine. I'll just bring him to work with me. That lasted two hours, which is actually a lot longer than I had thought it would, before he started screaming at me for being stupid enough to hand him the wrong truck and it was downhill from there. We came home and curled up on the couch for some marathon Noggin watching. I slept through most of it.

Today, I'm all set, right? Lukas has been fever free for almost thirty-six hours now, so I can get to work and get the ever-growing piles of insurance goo off my desk, right? Nine o'clock rolls around, and my phone rings. Yep, now Nickolas has a temperature of 101. Super. My boss was on the phone so I just scribbled a note and threw it at him before he could read it and yell, "Don't bother coming back!"

Oh, and did I mention that I'm sick as hell too? My throat hurts, my stomach is killing me, my back is all achy, and I have the worst sinus headache of all time. Add that to the hit-by-a-truck feeling, and yes, I think we have the flu. Nickolas is asleep on the couch, and I'm going to be in a few minutes here. Thank god I have a good book to read or I'd be sad about missing all this work.

Okay, no I wouldn't. But I will be sad if I get fired and have no health insurance. THAT would be bad. Awww, Nickolas is moaning in his sleep. My poor baby. He looked like a zombie for our short trip through Meijer, and all the way home he didn't talk, he just let his little head hang off to the side and stared into nothing. Awww. I hate it when my kids are sick.

Funny story. DMIL just chirped me on the N*extel to tell me that my boss said if I'm not back there by noon, that's it. So I told her that I guess this is it. I'm not leaving my sick kid to go back there, and I'm not bringing him in to spread the flu all over the office. In fact, I shouldn't even be in at all, hello, I'm sick. So if he wants to fire me and give me the summer off while I sit here and sip mint juleps and collect unemployment, fucking go ahead. I dare him.

I called Nick on the off chance that he could come home and sit with Nickolas, and he flew into one of his rages and called DMIL and told her that me getting fired would be the best thing to happen to us in years because ******* Insurance is the most backward, fucked-up shithole he's ever seen. So, I guess that's really it. Hm.

If it's not one thing, it's a zillion fucking others. I'm going to take a nap before I think about this too hard.

Kids are: Oobi. I can't stand Oobi. The whole thing freaks me out.

Last person who pissed me off: DMIL and my two bosses, the trifecta of EVIL.

Heard in my house: "My tummy hurts."

<< || >>

Miss Anything?

pics - 2007-06-05
I said I'd update again, but I didn't promise substance - 2007-06-04
I said I'd update again, but I didn' - 2007-06-04
the short version - 2007-05-30
title this - 2007-04-14

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com<< # Bitch Club ? >>

Brushes - Host - Photos - Reviews - Wishlist - LiveJournal - Cast - Free Stuff - Adagio Teas