Current ~ Archives ~ Profile ~ 101 Things ~ Notes ~ E-Mail ~ Rings ~ Design



at 2005-06-28 around 4:43 p.m.

Interesting development.

'Kay, so you guys know my mother in law is crazy, right? Well. Let me tell you a story.

This morning, the preschool called to tell me that both the boys had horrible diarrhea and needed to be picked up. I left work and told her that I had just talked to Nick, who would be meeting me at home after about two hours so I could go back to the office. When I got to the house with my poopy kids, Nick called and said he wasn't going to be able to come home after all. This is a bit of a problem because I'd already been warned about my time off, and informed that no more would be tolerated. So what did I do? Nothing. I didn't call.

My phone rings a few times; I ignore it. DMIL starts leaving messages, I ignore them. Finally I pick it up and she starts in on me about how she's going out on a limb defending me so I can keep my job and I tell her what I've been telling her for years: don't. She flies into a rage about how I'm secretive and inconsiderate and ungracious and you know what I did? I just sat there because I love to do that. She forgot to tell me how vindictive I am, so I had to make that fact obvious as well. Then she tells me that she's coming over so we can "talk about graciousness." Yeah. Whatever. But I locked all the doors just in case.

Never underestimate the bitch, because she did come over. Against my better judgment, I let her in. The kids had already seen her and they would freak if I didn't open the door. She starts telling me how wrong I am about her and how everything she does is just to help me. Then she begins listing all the horrible things I've ever done and how she's forgiven me for them. (!) I calmly stood up, opened the door, and said, "Out." She starts crying and trying to pull me back inside, but I grabbed the phone and told her I was calling the police if she didn't get her hands off me. She didn't stop, so I hit 9-1-1 and then hung up right away, knowing full well that now they'd come anyway. I told her several more times that I was done, but she didn't fucking listen. She just kept going on and on about how she's only trying to help us and she can't believe I could ever think she would talk badly about people (! again) and I just went back inside and sat on the couch. Calm.

So she's still blabbing away and the cops show up. I tell them sorry, I stepped on the phone and I didn't notice it had called anything. They took all my information "just in case", gave the kids some stickers, and left. (They asked me if there were any "male type people" in the house. I giggled. "Male TYPE?") She blabbed for a few more minutes and then finally left. (Are the tense changes giving you a headache yet? Jeez, sorry. I'm too fried to fix it.)

And that's it. I'm going in tonight to clean out my desk. Seriously, fuck this. The job has me so stressed it's ridiculous, and I can't work with her for another minute. I have something else pretty much lined up anyway, so it's not like we'll be out on the street. Nick's been looking at a wonderful job opportunity that would make him a lot of money and it would actually be something he'd like to do. I suppose now he needs to look a little harder at it, is all.

Ahhh. I feel drama-free already. (I'm sure it's the calm before the storm, but whatever. Let me have my moment.)

(second entry today)

Kids are: Nickolas screaming because I won't read him his book for the 789th time.

Last person who pissed me off: Duh.

Heard in my house: "Mommy, my cheese fell down." There was no cheese in the room.

<< || >>

Miss Anything?

pics - 2007-06-05
I said I'd update again, but I didn't promise substance - 2007-06-04
I said I'd update again, but I didn' - 2007-06-04
the short version - 2007-05-30
title this - 2007-04-14

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com<< # Bitch Club ? >>

Brushes - Host - Photos - Reviews - Wishlist - LiveJournal - Cast - Free Stuff - Adagio Teas