Current ~ Archives ~ Profile ~ 101 Things ~ Notes ~ E-Mail ~ Rings ~ Design



at 2004-09-30 around 9:23 a.m.

Have I mentioned the monster I have created in my Demonic Mother-In-Law (hereafter referred to as DMIL) by introducing her to the world of designer goods, with a heavy concentration in handbags? This woman is unstoppable. Somewhere along the way I forgot to teach her subtlety, though. I will have to work on that.

Yesterday at lunch, we went to a local thrift shop, actually a sort of upscale-ish consignment shop. Her eyes fell on the purses and she practically squealed with delight at the sight of a Louis Vuitton on the top shelf. She demanded to see the �Louie� at once, and interrogated the poor woman about its authenticity. The shop owner willingly disclosed the fact that the purse was a fake, and they engaged in an eye-stabbingly boring conversation on how to spot a Louis Vuitton knockoff. I amused myself by looking at an adorable faux fur leopard purse that she was selling for fifteen dollars or so, just enough that I didn�t really want it. I mean, it�s a thrift store purse. I�d spend five or so, but not much more. DMIL grabbed it out of my hands and said loudly, �What brand is this?� I looked inside, and it was from the Gap. She said, �That�s not designer,� and practically threw it back on the shelf. Um, I wasn�t done playing with it, but whatever. She then proceeded to look at every other purse on the shelf and announce to everyone in the store which ones were designer, and which ones were knockoffs, and which were just �trash from Wal-mart or something.� I wanted to crawl into a dressing room and escape through a window, but the other shoppers looked at me pretty sympathetically. Gah. It�s nice to want nice things, but keep it to yourself. As much as it may astonish you, no one cares what kind of purse you have. I know. It�s hard to believe. But it�s true.

I thought I might have found my desk yesterday, but my hopes were dashed pretty early on. They have just now placed an ad in the local paper looking for a replacement for my job, and it clearly states that commercial property and casualty insurance experience is required, no exceptions. The first resume we got was a guy who has been working for a park district coordinating sledding and ice skating activities. That is not even close. In no way I can imagine would this be construed as insurance related. Why do people send their resumes to jobs they are clearly not qualified for? (Seriously, I�m asking.) Do they not realize this only makes them look like fools? Apparently not, because the resumes are rolling in, and not a single one has showed any insurance experience at all. No wonder we can�t find anyone. Everyone is an idiot.

So how was everyone else�s evening? I certainly did not spend mine watching America�s Next Top Model. And I definitely did not stay tuned for Kevin Hill. I do not know all the contestants� names on ANTM. I do not think Ann is a crazy crybaby whore, and I don�t have any idea about Kelle being a spoiled snotty little rich girl who could buy a modeling contract if she wants one so bad. I don�t know about any of that, and I certainly did not dream about Taye Diggs last night. Nope.

Why do people pretend they don�t watch TV? What else is there to do? I fall asleep about an hour after I start reading, so if I don�t want to be in bed by eight (which really doesn�t sound so bad, now that I�m thinking about it), I watch TV. So sue me.

I�m going to go make myself some chai now. Have a great day, everyone!

Kids are: "Unwell" by Matchbox Twenty. I love them, but after 7,435 times...

Last person who pissed me off: Stupid receptionist. Just duh.

Heard in my house: I had a cup of chai. I'm going to get one now.

<< || >>

Miss Anything?

pics - 2007-06-05
I said I'd update again, but I didn't promise substance - 2007-06-04
I said I'd update again, but I didn' - 2007-06-04
the short version - 2007-05-30
title this - 2007-04-14

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com<< # Bitch Club ? >>

Brushes - Host - Photos - Reviews - Wishlist - LiveJournal - Cast - Free Stuff - Adagio Teas