Current ~ Archives ~ Profile ~ 101 Things ~ Notes ~ E-Mail ~ Rings ~ Design



at 2004-12-01 around 12:26 p.m.

A medical center for doctor�s offices is being built next door to the building I work in. Until the building is up, some of the doctors have elected to set up shop in trailers on the back of the lot. The only one fully operational happens to be an ob/gyn. As you would not expect your doctor to be in a trailer, we are forever getting wayward patients asking us if we are the doctor�s office or for directions. We find it far funnier than it actually is to ask them, �Are you looking for the gynecologist?� because it is embarrassing for them, and therefore amusing for us. Today it was taken a step farther when one of the guys said, �Sure, I�m the doctor. Step into my office.� Ha ha ha I hope you get sued.

I could seriously not have had a worse morning if I tried. I didn�t want to get out of bed. The water pressure in the shower was the lowest I�ve ever seen it. I burnt my hand on my straightening iron. Lukas didn�t want to get out of bed either, and was really bratty about it. Nickolas, despite being up half the night screaming his fool head off, (only halfthe night! Progress!) was his usual cheery self and made up for his brother�s bullshittery by planting a big snotty kiss on my face and saying �I luuuuh you mommy.� Awww. But then � I went out to start the van and the stupid sliding doors were frozen shut. Both of them. And my windshield wipers are the kind that retract under the hood, where they were frozen all the way to work. I had to have Nick sign something for me and he yelled at me because the pen wasn�t working. Um, he was lying in bed trying to sign it on the wall. Pens don�t work that way, unless they�re astronaut pens. Probably he was still half asleep, but there is no need to yell at me for not having an astronaut pen so you can sign papers from bed. Where I am not, and where I wish to be. So. I got Nickolas into the van, came back for Lukas, who was standing in a puddle of piss and crying. In his last clean pair of clean pants, since I have not been able to do laundry because for some reason the washer wants to drain inside the drywall. Not an ideal place. So I screamed at him, and then immediately felt bad and gave him cookies for breakfast. I got them to the sitter�s okay, but when I got to work it went from bad to worse. Turns out all that time I have been spending on the internet, I was supposed to be doing work stuff. Well, no one was that explicit in their instructions, so a bunch of shit didn�t get done and it�s totally my fault. (Note that I am sitting here writing an entry about it instead of rectifying said situation. I love me.)

I wanted to say thank you to everyone who gave me such great advice yesterday about Nickolas�s night terrors. I ended up giving him a long, warm lavender bath and put him to bed in light cotton jammies with the sound machine going. I also found some really good ideas here. I also had a mug of Bailey�s with some cherries in it, and that helped me not freak out (too badly) at the prospect of another night without sleep. He actually only had one episode last night, so I slept for a restless four hours. Nick sleeping on top of the covers fully clothed didn�t help, but whatever. Sleep is sleep.

All right, fine. I suppose I should be working. I�m going. Really. Maybe I�ll just check overstock.com just really quickly. Anybody want to join MyPoints, by the way? You earn points for stuff you buy online, and you can get cool things for the points you earn. Also, I get points to refer you, so if you want a referral, email me stressgirl AT gmail DOT com and I�ll hook you up. If you�re like me and you buy stuff online all the time, it�s a great way to feel like you really SHOULD be shopping.

Okay. I�m going.

Kids are: "Maxwell's Silver Hammer" I put an end to that Christmas music nonsense right quick.

Last person who pissed me off: Whoever decided that the wipers should live right where all the snow and ice collect. Duh.

Heard in my house: "Baby is crying, Mommy. He is crying because I bit him."

<< || >>

Miss Anything?

pics - 2007-06-05
I said I'd update again, but I didn't promise substance - 2007-06-04
I said I'd update again, but I didn' - 2007-06-04
the short version - 2007-05-30
title this - 2007-04-14

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com<< # Bitch Club ? >>

Brushes - Host - Photos - Reviews - Wishlist - LiveJournal - Cast - Free Stuff - Adagio Teas