Current ~ Archives ~ Profile ~ 101 Things ~ Notes ~ E-Mail ~ Rings ~ Design



at 2004-12-15 around 9:01 a.m.





In 1979 (the year you were born)


Jimmy Carter is president of the US


A major accident occurs at a nuclear reactor on Three Mile Island near Middletown, PA


An American Airlines DC-10 loses its engine and crashes seconds after takeoff, killing 275 people


Hurricane David kills over 1200 in the US and the Dominican Republic


Some 90 people, including 63 Americans, are taken hostage at the American Embassy in Tehran, Iran


The Soviet Union invades Afghanistan


ESPN starts broadcasting


Aaliyah, Jennifer Love Hewitt, Norah Jones, Heath Ledger, and Kate Hudson are born


Pittsburgh Pirates win the World Series


Pittsburgh Steelers win Superbowl XIII


Montreal Canadiens win the Stanley Cup


Kramer vs. Kramer is the top grossing film


Sophie's Choice by William Styron is published


"My Sharona" by The Knack spends the most time at the top of the US charts


The Facts of Life premiers




What Happened the Year You Were Born?


More cool things for your blog at
Blogthings

Baa-aaa.

Apparently the year I was born was a big year for, um, death and also for Pittsburgh. I did not know that.

I did not want to get out of bed this morning. For some reason, my brain was telling me that it was a ridiculous idea to get up. But I am sooooo responsible and I got up, showered, and went downstairs to find some clothes for myself and for the boys. I came back up and found Nick scratching his ass in the living room. �Why does the clock say 5:20?� I asked him, upon noticing.

We ran around the house checking all the clocks. It was indeed 5:20 everywhere but in our bedroom, which had decided that it was in New York and it was 6:20. What a fantastic discovery! I had an entire hour to fart around, read my book in peace, do several thousand reps of my hateful Thighmaster/Assmaster combo and a zillion situps (I hate you Thighmaster but damn do you make my ass pretty), and even dig out some clothes for the boys that they haven�t worn a hundred times lately. Of course, even with the �extra� hour, I still forgot to pack myself a snack so I don�t sit here and eat jellybeans and popcorn all day. I have a feeling that I am not doing the correct ratio of eating delicious holiday crap to exercising, because even with the stupid exercise I am gaining weight. Grr. Dear eggnog, quit being so scrumptious. Love, my butt.

I got over 400 hits yesterday for the first time. Yay for Blog Explosion. The mystery credit fairy still hates me, but I�ll show that bitch. I�ll just surf all day at work and earn those credits the old fashioned way. And I�ll be getting paid for doing it. Ha.

To totally change the subject, today is Holly�s (my kids� babysitter who died back in October) birthday, and her daughter (who also works here) has already had me crying once this morning. And it�s only 8:02. I�m sure we�ll start all over again when her sister (who also works here) comes in at 9. It really is unfair when someone who is so obviously still needed here dies so young. Her husband is just lost without her. T. said that when she goes to visit him, the house smells like her perfume. She thinks he�s been spraying everything with it so the scent never goes away. Poor guy. I should probably call him tonight, but I never know what to say in situations like that. �I�m sorry that your whole world is ripped apart?� I�m no good at comfort.

I�m really all over the place here, and I�m going to try to put that to use doing some work. By work, I probably don�t mean work, but we�ll see.

Kids are: "Thank You" Dido

Last person who pissed me off: DMIL for asking me to make a shitload of phone calls I don't have time for and are not my job.

Heard in my house: "I don't have boobs, Mommy. Only you have boobs." I have no idea where he got this, but he does have a point.

<< || >>

Miss Anything?

pics - 2007-06-05
I said I'd update again, but I didn't promise substance - 2007-06-04
I said I'd update again, but I didn' - 2007-06-04
the short version - 2007-05-30
title this - 2007-04-14

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com<< # Bitch Club ? >>

Brushes - Host - Photos - Reviews - Wishlist - LiveJournal - Cast - Free Stuff - Adagio Teas