Current ~ Archives ~ Profile ~ 101 Things ~ Notes ~ E-Mail ~ Rings ~ Design



at 2006-12-27 around 11:35 a.m.

Santa gave Lukas his very first stereo for his bedroom. Before, he had an old clock radio of Nick's that was banished from our room when the alarm faded into this pathetic injured whistling sound that failed to wake him for work. Lukas thought it was a little slice of heaven, all those different songs and people talking, navigable with just the turn of a knob. He's been sleeping with it next to his head, barely audible, for over a year now. In fact, that is my one bargaining chip with him. If he misbehaves, all I have to do is threaten to take his music and he straightens up immediately. So when I was thinking about what his one big gift from Santa should be, I knew it had to be music-related. It's not a very expensive model, of course, he's only five. But it's got a CD player, a radio, and a tape player. And you should have seen his face when Paul set it up for him.

Santa also found a little CD case that holds about 25 CDs and decorated it with puffy paint so that it says "Lukas's Music" and filled it with CDs we burnt for him. He will not abide that sappy children's music shit. His favorite, so far, is the AC/DC CD that Paul insisted we should include. And to fall asleep, he likes to listen to that "Picture" song (I forget what it's actually called, but it's something like that) by Filter a few times. I just can't believe how big he looks standing in front of the thing, fiddling with the radio knob. I know that five isn't so big at all, but it seems huge to me.

Oh, and that boyfriend of mine? Got me a diamond necklace. A real one. Five and a half years of marriage to Nick and not once did he buy me jewelry (or much else, really) and I'm with Paul for six months and I get diamonds. Sparkly diamonds. He gave it to me early so that I could wear it to my family Christmas Eve party. Smart man. My dad is still not very keen on meeting him, but I think we're getting closer. He can see that I'm happier now, that has to mean something. And he can see that the boys aren't traumatized, which is his biggest fear. Now that the whole family can see that, maybe he'll thaw a bit. Maybe.

I'm waiting for a phone call from a car dealership (ick) to see if they'll give me a loan for a minivan. The two door Grand Am is just not going to cut it when I am a mother of three. Holy crap. I'm going to be a mother of three. What the hell am I doing?

Kids are: Smelling delicious. They just got out of the bath. Blueberry shampoo and lavender lotion.

Last person who pissed me off: Mmm, nobody yet today.

Heard in my house: "How did that bubbly water get in my tummy?"

<< || >>

Miss Anything?

pics - 2007-06-05
I said I'd update again, but I didn't promise substance - 2007-06-04
I said I'd update again, but I didn' - 2007-06-04
the short version - 2007-05-30
title this - 2007-04-14

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com<< # Bitch Club ? >>

Brushes - Host - Photos - Reviews - Wishlist - LiveJournal - Cast - Free Stuff - Adagio Teas