Current ~ Archives ~ Profile ~ 101 Things ~ Notes ~ E-Mail ~ Rings ~ Design



at 2005-01-04 around 7:36 p.m.

Jesus Christ. (Sorry. I really need to work on the swearing.) If my life was any more ridiculous, I would be on the Real World. Seriously.

Nick has to work tomorrow, which means I have to stay home. No big deal. My boss was gone by the time I knew this, so I wrote a note for him letting him know that I would not be in tomorrow, nor would I be in on Friday. I left the note on his desk and went home.

About an hour after I got home, DMIL called the house, frantic. "What's going on tomorrow?" Good thing Nick answered, because you can only imagine the nice way I would have said it was none of her business. All he said was that he had to work so I was staying home. Then he was quiet for a while, and I could hear the squawking coming from her end. "Why wasn't I told?" Because you're not my boss. If you were, the note would have been on your desk. "What if she gets fired?" I'd like to see them try to fire me. I've got two weeks of vacation saved up and a three year old in a body cast. Go 'head. "What should I tell [boss]"? Nothing. I already told him. Don't worry about it.

I thought it was over when they hung up. Boy, was I wrong. Half an hour later Nick's boss, who happens to be DMIL's husband, called saying it was okay for me to take the day off. Huh? Apparently DMIL called him and told him that I would be fired if I didn't show up for work tomorrow so he called my boss and asked permission for me to stay home. What the fuck? Hadn't that already been accomplished by the simple act of writing a note? Did it need to go as far as bothering my boss (who knows Nick's boss through other dealings) at home in the evening? Way to make me look like a kindergartner who can't speak for herself. I hate them all right now.

I've also been through some really scary stuff with Lukas. He keeps crying that his tummy hurts, and it gets so bloated that it's pushing on the cast. It looks painful, and it must be from the screaming (and ultimately the puking. Yes, puking). So we called the doctor, who told us that it's a common condition caused by all the sitting still, and that kids used to die from it because they wouldn't leave enough room in the casts. Nice doctor, listen closely: never tell me anything like that again. Those are things I'll be perfectly happy never knowing. Thanks.

Lukas has noticed that this may be more of a long term thing than he'd first thought. I can tell by the constant crying and screaming for no particular reason other than "noooooooooooooooo!" It's his answer to everything. I'm not particularly encouraged by Nick's laughing, "You're going to have so much fun tomorrow." Uh-oh. He has already ripped all the waterproof tape off the (ahem) areas that need waterproof tape on his cast. I think he cracked the part on his unbroken leg, too, because he seems to have some movement there and he's not supposed to. That cast lasted one and a half days. This is going to be a very long six weeks if I have to bring him to the doctor every two days for a new cast.

Now he's ripping up the waterproof pad thing we put under him on the couch and saying, "No. No. No." So pleasant. If you have any extra xanax, please send them my way.

Kids are: Lukas is playing Test Drive, which has some terrible music. Ugh.

Last person who pissed me off: DMIL and her husband. The incredible clueless duo.

Heard in my house: "No. No. NO. NO. NO NO NO NO NONONONONONO!"

<< || >>

Miss Anything?

pics - 2007-06-05
I said I'd update again, but I didn't promise substance - 2007-06-04
I said I'd update again, but I didn' - 2007-06-04
the short version - 2007-05-30
title this - 2007-04-14

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com<< # Bitch Club ? >>

Brushes - Host - Photos - Reviews - Wishlist - LiveJournal - Cast - Free Stuff - Adagio Teas